New NASBM Fellows
Congratulations go to Fiona Gill from Morecambe Road School, Rina Peyton from St Mary Magdalene's RC Primary School, and Sue Edwards from Ripley St Thomas CE Academy, who all achieved NASBM Fellow status in 2015. Fiona and Sue attended a NASBM Awards event in London on 11 December where SBMs from around the country celebrated their success with a lovely lunch, speeches and plenty of networking opportunities with sponsors and peers. Rina unfortunately couldn’t make the event, but is seen here with her Fellow certificate – a real cause for celebration!
NASBM National Awards for School Support Staff 2014
Waterloo Primary Academy Double Success

LASBM member Sheryl Cardwell had good reason to be proud when she attended the NASBM National Support Staff Awards in Birmingham on 18 October, when her two nominees both came first in their categories. Lynne Roberts won Caterer of the Year Award and Steve Morrissey won Pupil Development Award. 
Lynne Roberts

In the words of an illustrious chef Lynn always makes sure our kitchen serves ‘proper food’, meals our children love to eat. She is enthusiastic and passionate about the food she serves, and cares what the children think. Lynne manages the catering in-house and totally embraced the idea by meeting with suppliers, took advice from local hoteliers and canvassed opinion from pupils, parents and staff. In a relatively short period of time she has created varied menus, using fresh local produce, providing lunches that are both popular and nutritious. Lynne deserves all the success and accolades this award may bring.
Steve Morrissey

Steve is dedicated, loyal, hardworking, he listens, understands the frustrations of IT and is creative in the solutions he finds for the endless problems presented by staff and pupils at Waterloo. Steve has created a series of applications for staff, for example: a safeguarding database that enables staff to log concerns; mid and end of year pupil report that uniquely reflects the expectations of the school but enables parents to fully understand how their child is progressing. Steve has a great sense of humour, a calm manner and his work has had an impact on the success of the school.
Well done to both of them – and well done to Sheryl for her nominations!
NASBM National Awards for School Support Staff 2013
Jayne Weatherill, School Business Manager at Thurnham Glasson CE School, Lancaster won the Eco Award in the NASBM National Support Staff Awards held at the Victoria Park Plaza Hotel, London, on 5 October 2013.

Here is what Jayne’s Headteacher said about her:

Mrs Jayne Weatherill has been the driving force behind our success as an Eco-School. It is through her hard work, dedication and enthusiasm that we have achieved three Green Flags. She works with the children to ensure that the Eco-drive comes from them, is sustainable and that the principles they learn are embedded in their lives forever. She has worked with other schools passing on her expertise and knowledge and she has just become a Green Flag assessor herself. What is most impressive is that Jayne does all this, tirelessly, in her own time on a voluntary basis.

Gillian Thomas, Headteacher

Jayne being presented with her award by Kevan Walsh, Director of Zenergi, with Tracey Grey, Chair of NASBM Trustees
Congratulations go to Penwortham Girls’ High School Premises Manager, Gerry O’Neill, who won Premises Support Worker of the Year Award 2013.

Andrea Barnes, School Business Manager at the school nominated Gerry. This is what she says:

Mr O'Neill attended a Gala Dinner in London in October and was presented with his award. The NASBM Awards provide schools with the opportunity to recognise the contributions that support staff, individuals and teams make to the success and achievements of the overall school environment. Support staff are in many cases the unsung heroes of a school. They work behind the scenes to ensure the smooth running of activities so that there is no disruption to the teaching and learning and provide a safe and enjoyable environment for pupils.

Mr O’Neill has worked tirelessly to improve our facilities since his appointment in November 2010, and we are delighted and extremely proud of this fantastic achievement.

Gerry O’Neill receiving his award from Stuart Letley, Managing Director of Safety Mark